Restructuring In Vigo Co. School Corp.


Terre Haute, In. – The Vigo County School board has approved some restructuring in the School Corporation.  Earlier this year superintendent Chris Himsel announced reorganization after falling graduation rates.  Some of the changes to take effect July 1st are: John Newport as the district’s new Deputy Superintendent. Newport previously served as the district’s Director of Facilities Support and Transportation. Newport will replace Karen Goeller. Terre Haute South High School Principal Tammy Rowshandel as the district’s new Chief Accountability Officer. Rowshandel’s new post replaces the job of Assistant Superintendent of Student Services. Tom Baltiewicz previously held the post. Baltiewicz, Assistant Superintendent of Building Leadership Stacy Mason, and Executive Director of Elementary Education and Title I Theresa Stuckey will each get new assignments. The board also approved hiring Rachel Cox as Sarah Scott Middle School’s principal and Christina Jarvis as principal of the Deming Early Learning Center. School board members also accepted Catrina McDonald’s retirement as principal of Honey Creek Middle School, effective June 14.